The Virginia Community College System's libraries are currently experiencing difficulties with accessing library resources off-campus. If you are having difficulties or receiving error messages when authenticating with your myTyler username and password, please refer to the following Research Guide for alternative links to library resources:
Alternative Database Links for Off-Campus Access
Use the library databases listed to find articles. Databases contain substantive news and peer reviewed articles.
Need a little extra help with library resources? The following library tutorials can help:
**If you are having difficulties hearing the tutorials while using the Internet Explorer browser, please try using Chrome or Firefox browsers to view the tutorials. Sorry for any inconvenience while the JTCC library works to fix this problem. **
Frequently used databases:
A to Z List: All databases available to John Tyler students. Arranged by subject and alphabetically.
QuickSearch: Find books, articles, videos, and more using one search tool.
EBSCOhost provides multiple indexes in for multiple fields of study. Many of the articles are available in full text. Choose from the EBSCO list of titles or search multiple databases at once.
Recommended databases include:
CQ Researcher: In-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues 1923-present, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
Facts on File provides:
Films on Demand: Classic and informative films in the fields of business, medicine, humanities, career and technical studies, all streaming to your desktop or mobile device. 9,000 full-length videos and over 100,000 video clips.
JSTOR: Access to 550 journals, focusing on the humanities. Subjects include history, literature, economics, sociology, art, and philosophy. All full text.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center: Brings together millions of articles discussing the pros and cons of contemporary issues. Includes opinion, images and facts.
Kanopy: Kanopy is a demand-driven film service offering thousands of full-length films and documentaries on various subjects. Subjects include art, business, education, global studies, language, health, media, science, social sciences, and instructional films. Films viewed by four or more users will trigger the Tyler libraries to purchase the film for a one-year, streaming license. Contact the library for more information on this demand-driven resource.
First Search and (mobile-friendly) WorldCat: Search online catalogs from thousands of libraries worldwide. This database provides citations only; contact your library for assistance with full-text and Interlibrary Loan.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature): Standard periodical index for nursing students. Not all articles are full text.
Health Source: Consumer Edition: Subject indexing and full text access to 80 magazines and journals. Designed for general research.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition: Subject indexing for 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on medical disciplines. Designed for allied health students and researchers.
OVID Nursing eBook Collection: Electronic text of 21 nursing guides, handbooks and manuals in nursing practice.
OVID: Your Journals at OVID: Full text coverage for nursing periodicals.
Salem Health: Digital version of Magill’s Medical Guide.
Online journals selected by the nursing faculty:
American History in Video: Streaming access to historic newsreels, archival footage, and substantive documentaries. Over 5,000 titles available; mobile friendly.
JSTOR: Coverage includes history, literature, economics, sociology, art, and philosophy. All full text.
Gale Artemis Literary Sources: Literary criticism, work overviews, and author biographies. Excellent starting place for literature research. Now includes Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writers Online and Twayne’s Authors Online.
MLA International Bibliography: Index to journal articles, chapters and essays within books. Limited full-text articles.
Salem History: Digital versions of Encyclopedia of American Immigration, Great Events from History, and Milestone Documents.
Salem Literature: Includes digital versions of Masterplots, Critical Insights: Authors, Critical Insights: Works and Critical Surveys.
Academic Search Complete: Comprehensive scholarly article index. Peer reviewed articles available.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection: Large full text psychology index. Peer reviewed articles available.
PsycNET: Search PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS, and PsycINFO.Full text eBooks and articles available.
BioOne: Articles in the biological sciences.
Science Magazine: News, research, and commentary from AAAS in a searchable index.
Science Resource Center: Authoritative articles and overviews of current science topics.
Wiley OnlineLibrary: Full text articles and eBooks in life, health and physical sciences.
Salem Science: Digital versions of the Encyclopedia of Global Resources, Encyclopedia of Global Warming, Forensic Science, The Solar System and Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues.
Emerald Insight eCase Collection: Provides students and faculty with unlimited access to a continuously developing digital library of more than 1,100 real- world case studies. The collection also features teaching material licensed from global case method advocates, creating opportunities for students to understand and apply business theory, analyze complex situations, and formulate solutions.
Emerald Insight Emerging Markets Case Studies: Authored by academics specializing in developing economies, these studies arm graduates with authentic examples of organizational challenges in emerging markets, and inspire strategies designed to tackle the business problems of the future.
Nexis Uni: (Formerly Nexis Lexus) Law journals, court cases, Federal & state codes; company information and financials; magazines and newspapers.