Circulating items: books, noncurrent magazines, reserve materials, DVDs and video recordings.
Non-circulating items: reference materials, reserve materials (library use only), electronic devices (library use only), and current issue magazines. These items must be used in the library.
Materials from the library collections do not accrue fines. If items are overdue, the library will send a reminder. If items are overdue for more than 90 days they are considered delinquent or lost. If the item is not returned, patrons will be billed for the delinquent/lost items. Patrons will be billed for damaged items. Two additional notices are sent to the patron before the debt information is sent to the State of Virginia.
Some Reserve items are for use only in the library. Some may be checked out for one-day, three-day, or one-week periods.
Delinquent items are overdue for more than 30 days. The charge for a delinquent/lost or damaged item is:
Patron must also pay any fines.
The Librarian will decide to:
Patrons may be issued a refund for items that they have paid for and are subsequently able to return. Materials must be:
The replacement fee for lost or damaged Interlibrary Loan material will be determined by the respective lending library.
Unpaid library accounts will prevent students from registering, graduating, and obtaining transcripts. The Commonwealth of Virginia may recover fees from an individual's state income tax refund, or other such monies issues by the Commonwealth such as lottery winnings. Unpaid debts will be sent to a collection agency and a 33.3% non-refundable fee will be added.
Visit the information desks at either campus to sign into a study room. Study rooms have a two hour time limit that is enforced when other students are seeking an available room.
Covered drinks and food are allowed in the Library EXCEPT for computer areas.