Library Hours for May 9-19, 2012.

More

Regular Hours for Both Locations

Monday - Thursday
7:30 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday
7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday
10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Sunday
Closed

Locations

Chester Campus Library

Nicholas Center, N102
804-706-5195

Midlothian Campus Library

Science Building, Room C202
Circulation: 804-594-1519
Reference: 804-594-1520
Fax: 804-594-1525

Databases

Search for articles in Academic Search Complete

Use the library databases listed to find articles. Databases contain substantive news and peer reviewed articles.

Tutorial: Find Articles 
Help with off campus access

Frequently-Used Databases

General
EBSCOhost provides multiple indexes in for multiple fields of study. Many of the articles are available in full text. Choose from the EBSCO list of titles or search multiple databases at once.
Recommended databases include:

  • Academic Search Complete: Comprehensive scholarly article index. Excellent starting place for research.
  • MasterFile Premier: General article index covering many areas of study. Includes reference books, primary source documents, and images.
  • Mobile Searching: Streamlined versions for mobile devices.

Factiva: Dow Jones-Reuters database concentrating on business and news. Indexes magazines, journals, and newspapers. Includes general interest and scholarly publications.

Facts on File provides:


Films on Demand: Classic and informative films in the fields of business, medicine, humanities, career and technical studies, all streaming to your desktop or mobile device. 9,000 full-length videos and over 100,000 video clips.

JSTOR:  Access to 550 journals, focusing on the humanities. Subjects include history, literature, economics, sociology, art, and philosophy. All full text.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center: Brings together millions of articles discussing the pros and cons of contemporary issues. Includes opinion, images and facts.

First Search and (mobile-friendly) WorldCat: Search online catalogs from thousands of libraries worldwide.  This database provides citations only; contact your library for assistance with full-text and Interlibrary Loan.

Health and Medical

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature): Standard periodical index for nursing students. Not all articles are full text.

Health Source: Consumer Edition: Subject indexing and full text access to 80 magazines and journals. Designed for general research.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition: Subject indexing for 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on medical disciplines. Designed for allied health students and researchers.
OVID Nursing eBook Collection: Electronic text of 21 nursing guides, handbooks and manuals in nursing practice.
OVID: Your Journals at OVID: Full text coverage for nursing periodicals.
Salem Health: Digital version of Magill’s Medical Guide.

Online journals selected by the nursing faculty:

History and Literature

American History in Video: Streaming access to historic newsreels, archival footage, and substantive documentaries. Over 5,000 titles available; mobile friendly. 
JSTOR:  Coverage includes history, literature, economics, sociology, art, and philosophy. All full text.
Literature Resources from Gale: Literary criticism, work overviews, and author biographies. Excellent starting place for literature research. Now includes Scribner Writers Online and Twayne’s Authors Online.
MLA International Bibliography: Index to journal articles, chapters and essays within books. Limited full-text articles.
Salem History: Digital versions of Encyclopedia of American Immigration, Great Events from History, and Milestone Documents.
Salem Literature: Includes digital versions of Masterplots, Critical Insights: Authors, Critical Insights: Works and Critical Surveys.

Psychology
Academic Search Complete: Comprehensive scholarly article index. Peer reviewed articles available.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection: Large full text psychology index. Peer reviewed articles available.
PsycNET: Search search PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS, and PsycINFO.Full text eBooks and articles available.

Science
BioOne: Articles in the biological sciences.
Science Magazine:  News, research, and commentary from AAAS in a searchable index.
Science Resource Center: Authoritative articles and overviews of current science topics.
Wiley OnlineLibrary: Full text articles and eBooks in life, health and physical sciences.
Salem Science: Digital versions of the Encyclopedia of Global Resources, Encyclopedia of Global Warming, Forensic Science, The Solar System and Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues.

New Databases

Mobile versions:  Selected EBSCO databases, slimmed down for use on handheld devices.
Salem History: Digital versions of Encyclopedia of American Immigration, Great Events from History, and Milestone Documents.
Salem Literature: Includes digital versions of Masterplots, Critical Insights: Authors, Critical Insights: Works and Critical Surveys.
Salem Science: Digital versions of the Encyclopedia of Global Resources, Encyclopedia of Global Warming, Forensic Science, The Solar System and Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues.

More info:

Need help?